Science Fiction

Review: Max

Cover of "Max," featuring the word "Max" in silver letters in front of a picture of a blond girl in a red tank top and a dark-haired boy standing behind her, with a stormy sky in the background.
Image from James Patterson

Title: Max (Maximum Ride #5)

Author: James Patterson

Genre: Science fiction

WARNING: This book is fifth in a series, so this review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books. If you haven’t read the previous four books in the series, I recommend not reading this review.

Back Cover:

Max and the flock have traded in Antarctica’s subzero temperatures for sunny Los Angeles, where they’re taking over the skies with their hair-raising air show. But a powerful enemy has them in his sights – and Max’s mom in his grasp.

When the flock learns that millions of fish are dying off Hawaii’s coast, and Max’s mom is being held in the middle of it, they are confronted with the most frightening ecological catastrophe yet.

While Max and her team comb the depths of the ocean off Hawaii’s coast, the ruthless kidnapper develops his own dark plans for the flock. Can the flock protect themselves from the approaching army – and save the world from utter destruction?

Review:

Yeah, I’d intended to read this directly after The Final Warning. We all know how that goes. Anyway, after finishing my reread of The Final Warning, I began to remember why I considered getting rid of the copies I own. The first three books were fabulous, and then it went downhill at book 4. I pretty much only read this one because I recalled some awesome scenes on an army base.

Max was still pretty fun, and she had some snarky comments that left me laughing out loud. The romance thing with Fang, though – I guess I’m used to them being friends and kind-of co-leaders from the first three books, because her actions around him just seemed weird and got on my nerves.

Like I said in previous reviews, besides Max, the rest of the characters weren’t jumping off the page. Except Angel – but Angel got on my nerves. (I seem to recall her getting worse as the series goes on.) She’s probably the most powerful of the Flock, and in Max, she’s figured out that nobody can really make her do anything she doesn’t want to.

The overarching plot was “get Max’s mom back,” but it was really the smaller details that the book focused on. The Max-Fang romance was a pretty big part. So was the changing Flock dynamics (I liked it better when Max was the undisputed leader). But the army base part I remembered? Awesome as ever. I absolutely love watching normal people react to the Flock.

I’m going to give up my copy of Max. I used to recommend that people new to the series stop at Max, but now I think for older readers, stopping at Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports is probably a better idea.

This series still has lots of nostalgia as one of my absolute childhood favorites (and starting a desire for being a winged person that I actually still have), but The Final Warning on didn’t really cut it for 17-year-old me.

The Maximum Ride series:

  1. The Angel Experiment
  2. School’s Out–Forever
  3. Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
  4. The Final Warning
  5. Max
  6. Fang
  7. Angel
  8. Nevermore
  9. Maximum Ride Forever

Leave a Reply

