High Fantasy

Review: Thane by Travis Bow

Thane
Image from Travis Bow; used by permission

Title: Thane (Everknot #1)

Author: Travis Daniel Bow

Genre: High Fantasy

Timothy was only two years old when Botan was betrayed to the Huctans. He doesn’t remember the razing, or the harrowed escape, or even his own parents. What he does know is his love for his brother, his contempt for himself, and his powerlessness against the Huctans.

But the time for keeping head down and heart guarded is over. Timothy has a chance to join the rebels, to learn from the once-famous masters of combat and espionage, to throw himself into a cause that he would die for.

A chance to become a Thane. And he’s taking it.

I didn’t have super high expectations for this book. The summary was just vague enough that I wasn’t sure what to expect, and I had no idea what a Thane was (some sort of magician?), but the rebellion part was interesting enough to make me pick it up.

Timothy was a great character, and I could relate to him in a lot of ways. His social awkwardness around people his own age reminded me of me as a younger teen. And his desire to do something important, without having any idea what he should be doing, is a feeling I know very well. I loved him so much.

I also enjoyed Robert, Timothy’s brother. He was Timothy’s complete opposite in many ways, but he had strengths of his own. He wasn’t a major player in the beginning, but he became more important towards the end, and I’m looking forward to more of him in future books.

There were some interesting other characters, too, especially Timothy’s fellow thanes. None of them were majorly important, but they made great supporting characters.

I felt like this was a lot of a setup book. That’s not to say there wasn’t action or excitement or plot, because there was. But it focused on Timothy becoming a thane and setting up the major battles. There were rebels in Thane, but the actual fighting didn’t start until the end. There was lots of action here, but I bet there will be much more in the next books.

The thing I loved the most about the book was Timothy’s Thane training. It was like medieval spying, but better. I want somebody to put together a Thane curriculum, because I would totally buy that.

Thane blew my expectations out of the water. I thoroughly loved the story. And that ending…. Book two had better be coming out soon, because I want more.

I received a free review copy of Thane from the author. His generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

The Everknot series:

  1. Thane

Report Card

For more on my grading system, please see my About page.

THANE scored a 4.0 (A)

Leave a Reply

