Horror

Review: Hollow City

Cover of "Hallow City," featuring a vintage-looking black-and-white photograph of a girl with a hole in her stomach; she doesn't seem bothered by it and you can see right through it to the scenery behind her
Image from Ransom Riggs

Title: Hollow City

Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Horror

Warning: This book is second in a series, so this review will probably contain spoilers of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Back Cover:

It’s 1940. Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, where they hope to find a cure for their beloved Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.

Review:

I didn’t really plan on finishing this book. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children didn’t impress me, and if I hadn’t won Hollow City in a giveaway, I wouldn’t have bothered.

It took me a long time to get through 100 pages. I read 33 and then put it down for a while because I was bored. Then I discovered it in my bag on the 9-hour drive to Washington, DC and figured I might as well read the dang 100 pages already.

Random side note: Why did Ransom Riggs have to name a major character a ridiculously hard to spell name like “Peregrine”?

I didn’t like Jacob in the first book. He just wasn’t a strong character. But I liked him much better this time around. Maybe because this book is less setup and more action, but he really came into his own. He wasn’t the leader, but he would actually do stuff. And I was really happy with the decision he made in the end.

I wish I could say more about the other characters, but I feel like there was so many of them that I didn’t really get to know any. Their peculiarities are cool and sometimes strangely useful, but that’s really all I know. That kind of disappointed me.

I had hoped to get a better handle on some stuff in this book. I did figure out a bit more about the details of how the world works, but I’m still not exactly sure about the wights and hollows and what exactly the whole evil plot is. It wasn’t really a major focus of this book, as the plot was more avoid-the-war-and-save-Miss-Peregrine than save-the-world. (There was a huge twist at the end, and I happily didn’t see it coming.)

I was pleasantly surprised that I ended up finishing this book. I’m still not sure I could explain what’s going on the whole time. And I’m pretty sure I’m not interested in the rest of the series. But I did manage to get through Hollow City, and that has to count for something.

The Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series:

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City
  3. Library of Souls

 

 

Leave a Reply

