Horror

Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Cover of "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children," featuring what looks like a black-and-white vintage photo of a little girl floating above the ground
Image from Ransom Riggs

Title: Miss Pergerine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Series: Miss Pergerine’s Peculiar Children #1

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Horror

Back Cover:

A family tragedy sends sixteen-year-old Jacob to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a remote island for good reason. And – impossible though it seems – they may still be alive.

Review:

This was not a book I planned on reading. I’d look at it, think, “This looks okay, maybe I’ll read that when I have time.” Then I’d look at the 102 books on my to-read pile, laugh, and forget about it. Then I entered a giveaway at Adventures in YA and Children’s Publishing and instead of winning the book I wanted, I won this one’s sequel. So I figured I might as well read this.

Jacob was okay. He wasn’t really a strong character (either in fortitude or jump-off-the-page ability). I think he needed to learn to stand up for himself and express his opinions. I didn’t hate him, but I didn’t love him, either.

As for other characters – there’s really not much to mention. Besides Emma, who was angry and moody, nobody else played a huge part. Hopefully that won’t be the case in the next book, because I think I’ll really like some of the characters (screwball Millard especially) once I get to know them.

I liked the idea of an orphanage for paranormal kids. But there was a lot more to it than that, with loops and evil wights and Miss Peregrine herself, and I think I only understood two thirds of it. That’s why I wasn’t worried about whatever the monster-things-ending-the-world issue was – I wasn’t quite sure what was going on. I hope I can catch on a little better in the next book.

Other than not always knowing what people were talking about, I enjoyed the plot. It was a little slow to get started, but most of the setup turned out to be important. And the creepy old photographs were interesting and added to the eerie (and slightly weird) mood. Despite not always knowing what exactly was happening, it was an entertaining story.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children wasn’t bad. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. I’ll probably read Hollow City, but if I didn’t own it, I wouldn’t bother.

The Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series:

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City
  3. Library of Souls
Leave a Reply

