Contemporary, Fiction, Middle Grade

Review: Wolf Storm by Dee Garretson

Wolf Storm book cover
Image from Wonderbrary

Title: Wolf Storm

Author: Dee Garretson

Genre: Contemporary

This is Stefan’s big break. He’s on location in the mountains far from home for his first movie role, filming a blockbuster sci-fi adventure. The props, the spaceships, and the trained wolves on set should add up to a dream job, but acting turns out to be much tougher than he ever imagined, and he feels like his inner loser is all that’s showing through. From the way his famously stuck-up co-star, Raine, treats him, he’s pretty sure she thinks so too. And worst of all, no one will believe his claim that there are wild wolves haunting the forest around the set. When a blizzard strikes, isolating the young co-stars and bringing hungry feral wolves into the open, Stefan must take on his biggest role yet—working together with his co-stars to survive. With no second takes, they only have one chance to get it right.

This is one of those I-can’t-check-out-only-one-library-book books where I threw it on my pile for reasons I couldn’t quite remember when I got home. Eventually, since it was a thin book and I thought the movie-filming angle sounded at least interesting, I started reading.

Stefan had never acted in a movie before, but he was determined to give it his best shot. He wasn’t exactly outgoing at the beginning, probably because Raine kept complaining he was terrible, but once filming wasn’t the important thing, his natural leadership skills came though. I enjoyed him all the way through.

Raine was interesting. At first, she was a bratty kid star who believed the world should bend over backwards for her because she was famous. Then things started going very wrong and they got stranded, and there was a drastic change. She was almost like an enthusiastic little kid who didn’t really understand how serious everything was.

Jeremy was the youngest of the bunch, and I liked him as the sweet, happy, enthusiastic little kid. But sometimes when they were stranded, he seemed older than Raine.

The story started off with conflicts between Raine and Stefan as they were filming. And all the little details about filming a sci-fi movie were fascinating. I wanted Stefan to prove himself, and I wanted to know more about movie filming – to the point where I didn’t want them to get stranded, I wanted them to keep filming.

Once it actually happened, though, I enjoyed that, too. Stefan started shining and Raine dropped the bratty attitude, and they all started working together. It was part survival story (with wolves, some tame and some not) and part watching the characters’ relationships change.

I’m still not sure why I picked up Wolf Storm, but I’m glad I did. I enjoyed the story, the characters, and even the setting. (I read it while watching two feet of snow fall outside my bedroom window, which helped.) Can’t say I’d read it again, but I certainly enjoyed it this time around.

Leave a Reply

