Fiction, Middle Grade, Paranormal

Review: Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure by A.J. York

Delilah Dusticle's Translyvanian Adventure
Image from A.J. York; used by permission

Title: Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure (Delilah Dusticle #2)

Author: A.J. York

Genre: Paranormal

WARNING: This is usually the point where I warn you not to keep reading if you haven’t read the first book. But these books are so short, I don’t think I’m going to be spoiling Delilah Dusticle at all. So feel free to read on!

In this illustrated installment, Delilah and the Dustbusters are invited to Transylvania to cater for the Hallow Eve Ball. All is not what it seems and Count Dracula has a very unusual request for Delilah.

After the fun I had with Delilah Dusticle, I was excited when A.J. York offered me the next installment in the series. But I saved it for a bad day, because I knew it would cheer me right up. And it did.

I was sad that Abi didn’t really feature too much in this book, and I still hope she gets a bigger part in book three. But I had so much fun with the new characters! Dev and Billy and Doris, the three unique people who go with Delilah to Transylvania. Count Winifred “Winnie” Dracula, with an affinity for glittery suits and skipping. Baroness “Boring Noreen,” who is so boring she has to pay people to pretend she’s interesting. And chihuahua toads!

Sometimes Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure was almost too off-the-wall insane. But it was so, so fun. From the creepy/awesome castle to Winnie’s zany sense of…well, everything, to kidnappings and spies (yes, there are spies), I got a good laugh and it just generally left me in a good mood. It only took me about half an hour to read, but it is a perfect pick-me-up story.

I know I classified Delilah Dusticle as contemporary, but Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure had a much more paranormal feel. There was lots of mythical magicky stuff, plus we learn a little about how and why Delilah has her dust powers.

This series is quirky and fun, and even when things are going completely wrong has a light-hearted and whimsical feel. I’m definitely interested in Delilah Dusticle and the Cursed Tempest, whenever it comes out – and I hope that A.J. York doesn’t think a trilogy is good enough.

I received a free review copy of Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure from the author. Her generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

The Delilah Dusticle series:

  1. Delilah Dusticle
  2. Delilah Dusticle’s Transylvanian Adventure
  3. Delilah Dusticle and the Cursed Tempest
Leave a Reply

