Fiction, Middle Grade, Paranormal

Review: The Fallen by A.J. Donnelly

Mind Splinters: The Fallen book cover
Image from AJ Donnelly; used by permission

Title: The Fallen (Mind Splinters #2)

Author: A.J. Donnelly

Genre: Paranormal

WARNING: This book is second in a series, so this review will probably contain spoilers of the previous book. If you haven’t read The Awakening, I recommend not reading this review.

In this action-packed adventure, Max finds an ancient journal left behind by a powerful telekinetic from the golden age of telepathy. The journal sets off a furious tale, featuring Max’s annoying sister Freyja, a Mind Splinter-tracking robot, and the return of the baddest man this side of The Joker, Jakob Wicksin.
Will Max and company prevail over Wicksin and his twisted ways?

After reading the first Mind Splinters book, The Awakening, I decided that even though The Fallen wasn’t at the top of my reading list, I wouldn’t object to reading it. So when A.J. Donnelly offered me a copy of this book, I said yes.

I liked Max, but honestly, his personality seemed a little vague. He was a twelve-year-old boy with psychic powers, okay. But he didn’t really seem to have any outside interests (or outside friends, since Burke was only in one scene the entire book). I liked him well enough, but he wasn’t a jump-off-the-page character.

Freyja was a cute little brat, which made her sometimes fun but mostly annoying. There were times when I really wanted to like her, but then she would start being a brat and I didn’t like her anymore.

Some of the characters that came in halfway through The Awakening (the ones I complained about) reappeared, and I liked them better this time around. There were also a couple new ones, mainly Wade, who may just be my new favorite character.

This plot was fabulous. Wicksin gets a lot of page time, so I got to see all the bad stuff in store before Max did. And there’s a whole heck of a lot of bad stuff. This book is called The Fallen for a reason. The finding-Wicksin mystery plot gets ramped up into a stop-Wicksin-before-he-does-something-even-worse plot, and a major miscommunication makes that one even worse than it needed to be. Twists and turns and lots of exciting stuff to be found here.

The Mind Splinters series’s biggest weakness is character development, and its biggest strength is fabulous plotting. Overall, not my absolute favorite series, but I wouldn’t object to reading book three (whenever it comes out).

I received a free review copy of The Fallen from the author. His generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

The Mind Splinters series:

  1. The Awakening
  2. The Fallen
Leave a Reply

