Paranormal

Review: Uninvited

Cover of "Uninvited," featuring a pale, blue-eyed girl with dark makeup around her eyes
Image from Kiss Library

Title: Uninvited

Series: Unloved Ones prequel #2

Author: Kevin Richey

Genre: Paranormal

Back Cover:

After her boyfriend dumps her, perfectionist and overachiever Jacqueline White obsessively compares herself to his new girlfriend, the sloppy and irresponsible Becka. But when she wakes up in Becka’s body to find they have switched places, she has a choice to make—should she take this opportunity to destroy her opponent’s life from the inside-out? Or should she instead find a way to keep this new body, and her old boyfriend, for herself?

Review:

After the awesomeness of Unpretty (or, more accurately, the awesomeness of Katherine in Unpretty), I was really looking forward to reading Uninvited. I knew it followed a completely different character, but I really didn’t care, because Kevin Richey can write.

I loved Jackie. I could relate to her desire to be smart and do her best in school and be perfect. And I really wanted her to learn the lesson I’ve learned – perfection is boring to everybody else. I didn’t connect with her as much as I did with Katherine – perhaps because Jackie’s issue is one I’ve conquered, while I’m still struggling with Katherine’s – but I still loved her.

The plot is pretty straightforward – Jackie’s boyfriend dumps her, she wakes up in the body of his new girlfriend. She has to navigate the day as Becka, and decide whether or not to destroy her rival. This novella is so short, I feel like anything else I say will be a spoiler, but suffice it to say that I didn’t see the ending coming. And I totally enjoyed it.

Uninvited took me 23 minutes to read – I timed it. But for the most part, it seemed to be the perfect length, and it left a whole lot of open ends that I suspect will be tied up in the actual Unloved Ones series. The only thing I think it could have done better was show Jackie’s home life a little better. That it’s not great is mentioned in passing, but I think I would have liked her better if I’d have known more.

I didn’t love Jackie quite as much as Katherine, but I still really enjoyed Uninvited. And I can’t wait to get my hands on the third prequel, Unpopular.

I received a free review copy of Uninvited from the author. His generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

The Unloved Ones prequels:

  1. Unpretty
  2. Uninvited
  3. Unpopular
Leave a Reply

