Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Review: Shadow by Amanda Sun

Shadow book cover
Image from Teenage Fiction for All Ages

Title: Shadow (Paper Gods #0.5)

Author: Amanda Sun

Genre: Paranormal

Katie Greene’s worst nightmare comes true when her mother dies, and she’s devastated to learn that she will have to leave the only home she’s ever known. Desperate to find where she belongs, she must decide if she has what it takes to start a new life across the ocean. For Yuu Tomohiro, every day is a nightmare. He struggles to control his strange ability, and keeps everyone at a distance so they won’t get hurt—even his girlfriend, Myu. At night, a shadow haunts his dreams, and a mysterious woman torments him with omens of death and destruction. But these haunting premonitions are only the beginning…

I found this Paper Gods prequel as a free ebook, and it sat on my Nook until I checked the first Paper Gods book, Ink, out from the library. Then I decided I’d better buckle down and read it, already.

I have come to the conclusion that I made a mistake.

I felt really bad for Katie. Her mom’s dead, and her dad’s nowhere to be found (I assume he left…). I was surprised how more of her half of the story focused on the “do I actually want to move to Japan” question than trying to fit into the Japanese culture.

Tomohiro’s half of the story wasn’t quite as great. I liked him and all, but there were so many details and situations and characters…plus the foreign words. I knew there was something bad going on – enough that I felt bad for him, but not enough that I really cared, if that makes any sense.

Tomohiro’s half of the story was, honestly, confusing. Foreign words with too many vowels, foreign names that all sounded the same, something going on but too many details and not enough big picture. I got that something was weird with him, something that had to do with ink, but I couldn’t see the forest through the trees – or the problem through the details.

I think this is one of those prequels that’s better read after you’ve read the book. I got the feeling that most of the things in Shadow I had trouble understanding will make sense once I’ve read Ink.

The Paper Gods series:

Shadow (prequel novella)

  1. Ink
  2. Rain (March 20104)
  3. Currently untitled
Leave a Reply

