Science Fiction

Review: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports

Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports book cover
Image from Kidsmomo

Title: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports

Series: Maximum Ride #3

Author: James Patterson

Genre: Science Fiction

WARNING: This book is third in a series, so this review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books. If you haven’t read The Angel Experiment or School’s Out-Forever, I recommend not reading this review.

Back Cover:

Max and the flock are clearly destined for greatness. But now our six winged heroes are being hunted around the world by a new kind of enemy that is both spectacularly frightening and horrifically perfect. Some obsticales they’re facing this time around: Flyboys (arrogant bruisers with wings, even stronger than Erasers), a genocidal plot (the most terrifying human experiment imaginable), the unthinkable (there’s a traitor among them), romance (a major problem – Fang never was one to take a hint), and the impossibility factor – they can’t even save themselves! This time, it’s inevitable: they will get caught. So they might as well have some fun.

Review:

Going into this book, I remembered this being the book with ter Borcht, and the book with ter Borcht being the funniest of the series. (It is also the book with the line, “I vill now destroy de Snickahs bahs!” which has become famous in my house, even though I’m the only one who’s read the book.) So I was super-excited to reread this.

Once again, Max was hands-down the best part. I loved her snark and her kick-butt skills and her sarcastic sense of humor and everything. She was hilarious and cynical and awesome. To sum up: I loved Max.

The others weren’t quite as great as Max. Fang, the strong and silent one who actually has opinions, he just chooses not to share them; Iggy and Gazzy, partners in explosives; Nudge, the diva and chatterbox; and Angel, the sweet one with a scary side. They weren’t bad, but next to the awesomeness that was Max, they didn’t seem quite as great.

Ter Borcht, who I mentioned earlier, is actually one of the whitecoats. But he’s memorable because of his German accent and the bird-kids’s ability to get him riled up. Sometimes his reactions were funnier than the flock’s quips.

The plot was as brilliant as I remembered. It focused more on the why-Max-needs-to-save-the-world-and-other-unanswered-questions than the kicking-butt plots, which meant more whitecoats than Erasers. But watching the flock hassle the whitecoats was so hilarious, I didn’t mind. Plus, there were a bunch of questions answered and more questions raised, and I didn’t remember the answers to all of them.

It wasn’t all fun and angering scientists, though. There were darker moments, hopeless moments, and moments where they wanted to give up. And there were some situations where I couldn’t figure out how they were going to get out of it, and I’d read the book before.

There was only one itty-bitty detail that I had an issue with. The flock is hiding out again, this time in a vacation cabin, and when they raid the pantry Nudge makes an off-handed comment that she was glad they weren’t vegetarian. Which made me go, “wait a minute. Didn’t Nudge go vegetarian last book?” If something changed with that, I missed it. It wasn’t a big issue, I just caught it as an inconsistency.

If you mix six kids with wings, kick-butt skills, and smart-alecky mouths, and drop them in a mix of danger, narrow escapes, unanswered questions, confusing relationships, and people out to get them, and blend that with more humor than an action plot should reasonably be able to support, you might have something close to Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports. In a word: Awesome. I’m looking forward to rereading the next book, The Final Warning.

The Maximum Ride series:

  1. The Angel Experiment
  2. School’s Out-Forever
  3. Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
  4. The Final Warning
  5. Max
  6. Fang
  7. Angel
  8. Nevermore
  9. Maximum Ride Forever
3 thoughts on “Review: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports”

  1. I’ve been thinking of reading these at some point, though I’ve heard that the series went downhill after this one. Would you suggest reading up to a certain novel, or do you reckon the whole thing is worth checking out?

    1. Personally, I agree that the first three are the best, but (to me) the series doesn’t start going truly downhill until book six, ANGEL. I read the whole series mainly because I loved the first five and didn’t want to give up on my favorite bird-kids.

      Everybody likes it up to a certain point. My sister stopped after book three. A friend of mine loves all eight books. This series is definitely worth a read, but my suggestion would be take it one book at a time and pick your own stopping spot, if you want to stop.

      Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

