Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Paranormalcy

Paranormalcy book cover
Image from paranormalcy.net

Title: Paranormalcy (Paranormalcy Trilogy #1)

Author: Kiersten White

Genre: Paranormal

Weird as it is working for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, Evie’s always thought of herself as normal. Sure, her best friend is a mermaid, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours, but still. But now paranormals are dying, and Evie’s dreams are filled with haunting voices. There may be a link between her abilities and the sudden rash of deaths. Not only that, but she may be at the center of a faerie prophecy promising the destruction of all paranormals. So much for normal.

Paranormalcy is one of those books that I’ve wanted to read for a while – since I read the first chapters online, in fact – but never really got around to it. Then I had an I-can’t-check-out-only-one-book-from-the-library moment and threw it on my pile.

I loved Evie. Loved, loved, loved with a capital L. She had kick-butt skills, strange powers, and a very girly side. It was all her quirks that made her so fun – a pink taser named Tasey and a deep love of lockers, for example. The contrast of her take-down-paranormals job and her zebra-print-dress-and-pink-boots personality just made her awesome.

I liked Lend. He was…interesting. Different. Besides the whole imitating-your-look thing, he had a unique personality. I’m not sure how else to describe it. He was friendly and had a good sense of humor, but beyond that…he was different. That’s the only way I can describe him.

My biggest problem with Paranormalcy was Lish, Evie’s mermaid best friend. The book said they were friends. They acted like friends. But I didn’t see the friendship. It seemed like Evie only visited Lish when she felt lonely or wanted information or needed something from Lish. And that didn’t seem like a real friendship to me.

I loved the idea of the International Paranormal Containment Agency. It was not magic-based or anything like I expected – it was bureaucratic and rule-based and exactly what I’d expect from a government agency. I enjoyed it precicely because it wasn’t what I expected.

The plot was fantastic. Between nobody telling Evie anything, her confusing relationship with Lend, the question of why she can see through paranormals’ glamours, and who- or whatever is killing paranormals, I was hooked. I liked it because it was full of surprises and rarely what I expected.

This book was super fun because what I thought would happen never did. Plus, I loved Evie. Now I’m going to have to find book two, Supernaturally. Because Paranormalcy left way, way too many loose ends.

The Paranormalcy Trilogy:

  1. Paranormalcy
  2. Supernaturally
  3. Endlessly
1 thought on “Paranormalcy”

Leave a Reply

