Science Fiction

Review: Code

Code book cover
Image from Strange and Random Happenstance

Title: Code

Series: Virals #3

Author: Kathy Reichs

Genre: Science Fiction

WARNING: Code is the third book in a series, so this review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books.

Back Cover:

The Virals – Tory, Ben, Hi, and Sheldon – are put to the ultimate test when they find a geocashe containing an ornate puzzle box. Sheldon decodes the cypher inside, only to find more tantalizing clues left by “the Gamemaster.” A second, greater geocashe is within reach, if they’re up for the challenge. But inside the second box is a fake bomb and a sinister proposal. The real game has begun. Another bomb is out there – a real one – and the clock is ticking…

Review:

After reading Virals and Seizure, I knew I had to get my hands on Code as soon as it came out. The instant I found it, I snatched it up.

Tory was, once again, awesome. She could be stubborn and didn’t give up anything without a fight. She was impulsive and reckless sometimes, sure, but that just made her all the more fun.

Ben, Hi, and Sheldon weren’t the three-dimensional characters I wish they were. Sheldon was the smart one, and Hi was the comic relief. I can’t even find the right adjectives to describe Ben – strong and silent, maybe? Next to Tory, they seemed like just minor characters.

I had completely forgotten about Chance Claybourne until he showed up again. He’s one of the reasons I had to hope there was a book 4. There are too many loose threads there.

The Gamemaster was a distinctly unnerving villain. Besides the fact that he was completely insane and didn’t care how many people got hurt, it was hard to guess what he was going to do next. Or even who he was.

His creepy game was fascinating. His clues all made perfect sense once Tory and her friends figured them out, but until then…I didn’t get it. And furthermore, I’m not sure how I would have gotten it. But between the solving the Gamemaster’s clues and everything else that was going on (debutante ball, hurricane, Chance coming back, and more), I did not want to put this book down.

Plus, I wish they had more occasion to use their Virals powers. Because those are just awesome.

The only problem I had with this book was with a certain subplot. It doesn’t show up until the end, so I won’t say what it is (no spoilers), but I saw it coming from a long way off. And in my opinion, it could potentially ruin all the character dynamics.

I got to the end of Code and thought, “Kathy Reichs better not be one of those authors who ends a series on a completely unacceptable note! This can not be the end of the Virals series.” Then I did a little digging and found out that this isn’t the last Virals book.

Book 4, Exposure, is coming out in 2014. I’m glad that the series isn’t over yet, but 2014? I can’t wait that long! I want to read it NOW!

The Virals series:

  1. Virals
  2. Seizure
  3. Code
  4. Exposure
  5. Terminal
Leave a Reply

