Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Dark Destiny

Dark Destiny book cover
Image from Oscar Cavazos; used by permission

Title: Dark Destiny (Part 1)

Author: Oscar Cavazos

Genre: Paranormal

Great friends. A perfect girlfriend. Life is good for seventeen-year-old Sebastian. Until tragedy shatters his blissful existence, awakening a dark power inside him. Visions of a ghostly and broken world lead to a mysterious girl who tells him that he’s the reincarnation of Death. With the title comes great power. Will he use it for good? Or will he drown in the darkness of his own selfish purposes?

I picked up this book mostly because of how vague the summary was. I enjoy a good paranormal, and I was curious what kind of dark gifts Sebastian had.

Sebastian was, as much as I know of guys, a pretty average high school boy. He wasn’t bland, personality-wise, but he wasn’t exactly a stand-out, either. I liked him, though, and I didn’t mind following him through the story.

I’m not going to mention any of the other characters, because they either weren’t in a whole lot of the story or they died.

The plot was brilliant, with what sets up to be great plots and subplots. I was hooked as Sebastian tried to manage his life with his new magical responsibilities. There’s also a hint of some Powers That Be getting up to something, which I hope will get expanded on later on in the series. Plus, there’s a talking book.

I’ve never read a paranormal featuring the Grim Reaper before, and I have to admit, the idea was great. Between the creepy robes, Pergatorium, and all the little details about the Grim Reaper’s responsibility, I loved figuring out about the mythology and how everything worked. I’m looking forward to learning more about that in later books, too.

For being an Indie book, there were actually not many writing mistakes. Some spots I could tell the writer could have done a little more editing, and there were some formatting issues with my ebook copy. But overall, I was pleasantly surprised.

Dark Destiny is part 1 of 3, and was super short. By the time it was done, I still had a bunch of questions. What did the two kids in the prologue have to do with anything? What was going on at the end, when the story jumped back to the 1500s? What does the teacher have to do with Sebastian? Why do I get the impression that gang isn’t quite what they appear?

I’m assuming some of these answers will be answered in the currently-unreleased Part 2. I almost wish it was all one book, since when I finished part 1, I kept trying to turn the page, wishing the rest of it was there to read.

I recieved a free review copy of Dark Destiny from the author. His generosity did not influence, or seek to influence, this review.

Leave a Reply

