Dystopian

Review: Insurgent

Insurgent book cover
Image from Veronica Roth’s website

Title: Insurgent

Series: Divergent #2

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: Dystopian

WARNING: Insurgent is second in a series, and this review inevitably contains spoilers of book one, Divergent.

Back Cover:

Tris’s initiation day ended in tragedy. War now looms as the conflict between the factions grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable – and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions and by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose.

Review:

I’ll admit it – I was a little leery about reading this book. I enjoyed Divergent, but the factions were my favorite part. After the end, I wasn’t sure I’d like Insurgent as much.

I decided against rereading Divergent because it was so long, but as I started Insurgent, I began to think I should have. Names were tossed around in a you-already-know-this-person way – which I probably should have, but it’s been so long since I read Divergent, I didn’t remember.

Tris was okay. She spent a lot of time focused on her guilt and grief – which, don’t get me wrong, is understandable. I get it. But by page 300, I was ready for her to forgive herself and move on, already! I’m not saying it’s unrealistic, I’m saying Tris beating herself up every other page lost its impact after a while.

Tobias came across as a little flat to me. He’s a handsome guy who likes Tris and has a tragic past. And…that’s about it. The “likes Tris” part seemed to be the emphasis. It wasn’t actually a huge deal, though, since a lot of the emotional plot was tied up in Tris’s guilt.

Except for Tris’s emotional issues, I enjoyed the plot. It was jam-packed full of suspense when there wasn’t action. Most of the twists caught me off guard, which I always like. And there were plenty of secrets and surprises.

I feel like this review is too short for an over 500 page book. But I don’t think there’s that much to say – at least not without spoilers. Most of the plot is wrapped up in some secret or other.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the characters this time around. But the plot was enough to keep me interested. Book three, Allegiant, comes out in October. After the end of Insurgent, I think I’ll read it. Not because I’m in love with this series, but because I want to know what happens next.

The Divergent series:

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant
2 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent”

  1. I’m the same as you when it comes to the point of whether or not to reread a first installment, and more often than not i force myself to in case i’ve forgotten a key detail that will come up in the next book. I agree with you on a bit of your assessment here in terms of how some of the characters come across, but i think that all in all it was a great read.

    I enjoyed your review and i look forward to seeing what else you have on your list.

Leave a Reply

