Fiction, Middle Grade, Science Fiction

Bot Wars

Bot Wars book cover
Image from J.V. Kade’s website

Title: Bot Wars (Bot Wars #1)

Author: J.V. Kade

Genre: Science Fiction

When robots became so human-like that they wanted equal rights, the government declared all robots terrorists and banned them from the United Districts. Then the Bot Wars began. Twelve-year-old Trout St. Croix isn’t trying to be a rebel or a fugitive – he just wants to find his dad, who went missing while fighting in the Bot Wars. But when a video he posts about his dad goes viral and his brother disappears, Trout begins to question the government. Nothing is as it seems – not the robots, the government he always trusted, or his own father – and now Trout is in danger of disappearing, too.

I’m still not quite sure what possessed me to pick this up. I was already drowning in a backlog of books, and it wasn’t like Bot Wars was high on my list of things to read. In fact, I hadn’t even heard of it until I found it on the library shelf.

But I picked it up, and I’m glad I did.

Trout wasn’t bad, as far as characters go. I didn’t mind following him around through the story. But I felt like there was  a slight disconnect – maybe because he’s a twelve-year-old boy and I’m a sixteen-year-old girl. I don’t think I liked him as much as, say, my twelve-year-old brother would.

Trout’s friend Vee, on the other hand, I really enjoyed. I liked her spunk and her willingness to break the rules, and I loved her hair (I know, weird fact, but it was really cool). She was a fun character.

One thing I have to mention is that strange as it may be, computer geek Dekker was my favorite character. He was in maybe five scenes the whole book, but his super-fun quirkiness made me wish he was in more of it.

I feel like anything I say about the plot is going to be a spoiler. Everything in the summary happens in about the first third of the book. Then it moves into conspiracies and rebellions and everything-the-government-said-was-a-lie kind of stuff. Plus, there’s a bunch of quirky robots. The whole plot was immensely exciting.

I loved the futuristic sci-fi world. The robots having personalities was about the only thing that seemed unrealistic. The way the government handled things, the economic problems, everything seemed like it could actually happen. And it made me want a robot.

Bot Wars was a fun middle grade sci-fi. I actually thought it was a standalone until I checked out J.V. Kade’s website. It wrapped up so well, I didn’t think there was going to be a sequel.

I loved Bot Wars. Between the plot, the sci-fi world, and the mix of fun characters, it was an enjoyable read all the way through. There’s a (currently untitled) second book coming out in March 2014, but I’m not sure if I want to read it. I think it might drag a good story on too long.

Leave a Reply

