Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult

Georgetown Academy Book One

Georgetown Academy Book One book cover
Image from the Georgetown Academy website

Title: Georgetown Academy Book One (Georgetown Academy #1)

Author: Alyssa Embree Schwartz and Jessica Koosed Etting

Genre: Contemporary

It’s the beginning of a new political administration. That might not mean much at most high schools, but at Georgetown Academy, Washington D.C.’s most elite prep school, January 20th means new alliances, new flings, and new places to party. For self-proclaimed D.C. royalty Brinley Madison, the first day of school is all about establishing the social hierarchy and trying to keep her boyfriend’s wandering eye, and her own secret vice, in check. When Ellie Walker’s ex-boyfriend, returns to town and her Senator mother’s political nemesis is reelected, Ellie’s life starts to snowball out of control. Evan Hartnett is more into books than beer, and no one’s ever really noticed her. When her star rises as an intern at D.C.’s most-watched political news show, she soon finds the two worlds colliding in ways that make her question what’s secret and what’s fair game. With her father in line to be the first Hispanic president, new girl Taryn Reyes is ready to dive into the D.C. scene with an open mind. But when her fellow students turn out to be more interested in spreading rumors than making friends, she realizes that forging a drama-free path might be a lot harder than she thinks. In a town where one misstep can turn into a national scandal, the students at Georgetown Academy will have to be on their best behavior—or make the world believe that they are. Because there’s only one rule: whatever you do, don’t get caught.

Whew, I think that summary was as long as the book itself! Because Georgetown Academy Book One (a distinctly uncreative title, if you ask me) is super short. And not exactly in a good way.

First off, it follows too many characters. And I wasn’t a huge fan of any of them. Brinley was a total brat, Evan was a worrywart. I didn’t mind Taryn too much, except for the drinking, and I didn’t mind Ellie except for the sex. If I had a choice, I probably would have picked Taryn as my favorite for her uniqueness, but I didn’t really love any of them.

To add to the character overload, only Brinley and Ellie run in the same social circles. So each new point of view gave me a handful of new characters to mix up. Most of them were only mentioned once or twice, so I get towards the end and they mention a name and I go, “Have I heard of this guy? Whose friend is he?”

It could be because I’m not a huge fan of politics, but most of the political details just bored me. Sometimes it’d be a get-on-with-the-story moment, and sometimes it’d be an I-don’t-remember-this-from-government-class moment, but either way, I was not a fan.

I really think this needed to be a longer book – perhaps combine Georgetown Academy Book One with its similarly-uncreatively-named sequel, Georgetown Academy Book Two. But each character had her own separate plot, which tied together here and there, but I felt like the story was too short for the sheer amount of characters and plots in this.

One thing I thought was a cool feature, though, was that at the “Rookie Party” in the middle of the book, there was the option to choose which girl – Brinley, Ellie, Evan, or Taryn – you wanted to follow for the party. And when you’re done, you have the option to go back and follow somebody else, which I thought was really cool (although I only followed Taryn).

Overall, this really wasn’t my thing. But I think it could have been better if it’d been longer.

I received a free copy of Georgetown Academy Book One from the publisher. Their generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

Leave a Reply

