High Fantasy

Review: Genesis

Genesis book cover
Image from T. Sae-Low; used by permission

Title: Genesis

Series: Prophecy Rock #1

Author: T. Sae-Low

Genre: Fantasy

Back Cover:

As rumors of a possible Candidate – the long-prophesied savior of peace – swirl across the war-torn lands of Eos, Raden Nite finds himself unexpectedly chosen to discover the truth behind these rumors. Raden and his closest friends find themselves traveling through the mysterious Voras Mountains and into enemy lands.

On the other side of the Disputed Lands, Prince Aric, in an effort to escape the shadow of his older brother and prove to his father that he is a worthy successor to the throne, embarks on a reckless journey to the darkest corners of Eos. There, he discovers the sinister magic of the Dark Forest and the harsh realities of what it truly means to be king.

Review:

I don’t usually read high fantasy, but for some reason, Genesis caught my eye. It could be because I don’t read much high fantasy, and I haven’t seen a good YA high fantasy in ages. Whatever the reason, though, I decided to read Genesis.

I enjoyed Raden. He didn’t have a jump-off-the-page noticeable personality, but he wasn’t exactly a jump-off-the-page noticeable guy. He was more calm, logical…he had an almost geeky air, if I can call a soldier geeky. In fact, I was kind of surprised he was good at fighting. He struck me as more of the behind-the-scenes organize-it-all kind of guy.

Raden’s friend Gama wasn’t as major a character as I wished he would be. He was the jovial, always-making-light-of-things kind of guy that this kind of book almost requires – a bit of humor to offset the gravity of the situation. Somehow, I pictured him as much older than Raden, but despite that one little detail issue (which was totally my fault), I really enjoyed him as a character.

I hated Aric. He was spoiled, arrogant, hotheaded, unwilling to listen to any advice that went against his ideas, and an all-around jerk. When he was first introduced into the story, I forced myself through his chapters so I could get back to Raden. But as the story advanced, my hatred faded to dislike – he had some fears, some insecurities, and a not-so-great father that managed to garner a little sympathy. But by the end, I still didn’t like him very much. I hope that will change later on in the series, though, because I think he has the potential to be a great character.

The plot was fantastic. It starts off pretty simple, with Raden heading off on his quest. But then it gets more multilayered as Aric is introduced and more background on the war and Raden’s past is revealed. There were some awesome battle scenes and a few big shockers at the end – one of them I saw coming, but the other one took me by surprise.

The devil’s in the details, as the old saying goes, and the details are what really killed Genesis. Incorrect punctuation is a pet peeve of mine anyway, but this is one of those self-published books that could have benefited from a good editor. The characters were good, the plot was great, but the author really didn’t understand commas.

Overall, Genesis was a good book. Good characters, strong plot, nicely minimalistic description, even a great job with the setting, when it was important. But I think it had the potential to be so much better – even a copyeditor to fix the punctuation would have been well worth the investment.

I’m not sure if I want to read the second book in the series, Existence, or not. I enjoyed the storyline, and I want to find out what happens next, but I’m not sure how many more misplaced commas I can take.

I received a free review copy of Genesis from the author. His generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

The Prophecy Rock series:

  1. Genesis
  2. Chosen
1 thought on “Review: Genesis”

  1. Good review. You have distinct feelings for the characters, and that should make any author happy.
    I’ve been on the independent author kick as of late, and one thing I’ve noticed is almost every one of them could use a good copyedit. Nothing breaks immersion like a typo, punctuation, or grammar mistake.

Leave a Reply

