Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Aversion

Aversion book cover
Image from Kenechi Udogu; used by permission

Title: Aversion (The Mentalist #1)

Author: Kenechi Udogu

Genre: Paranormal

For Gemma Green’s first time, things should have been straightforward. Find your subject, hold their gaze and push a thought into their head to save them from future disaster – Aversion complete. A pretty simple process given that the subject was to have no recollection of the experience. But Russ Tanner doesn’t seem to want to forget. In fact, the more she tries to avoid him, the more he pushes to get to know her. Gemma knows she has a problem but is she facing the side effects of a failed Aversion or has the school’s tennis champ really fallen for her?

I normally don’t go for paranormal books, but I am a fan of telepathy.  And I thought this Averting thing sounded a little like telepathy…

Gemma was a great main character. Stubborn, independent, brave, and a little insecure. Not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but willing to own up to her mistakes and try to fix them herself. I loved following her through the story and figuring things out with her.

It’s a little harder to discuss Russ, since he didn’t have quite as distinct a personality as Gemma. But I didn’t mind him. For most of the story he was not quite sure what was going on, but he was still a fun, sweet guy.

I was a little worried about the romance angle – there was a distinct possibility of insta-love. But, surprisingly, there wasn’t. Kenechi Udogu handled it brilliantly, starting a friendship first before moving into a tentative romance. I’m sure it’ll go further later on in the series, but this was a perfect book one romance.

I thought the plot was going to be straightforward – something didn’t work out right in Gemma’s first Aversion, so now she has to fix it. And that was the plot…until about halfway through, when it turns out Gemma’s father is not telling her something. And then it moves into a bigger, more dangerous plot that leaves me with a whole bunch more questions.

The one major problem I have to mention is with the writing style. For the most part, and especially in the middle, it flows nicely and keeps a good pace.  But in places, there’s info dumps – too many details at once – and it slows the story down.  Other than that and a few missing commas, I didn’t have any problems.

The second book in the Mentalist series, Sentient, isn’t out yet, and I don’t know when it’s coming out. But I think I may have to read it when it does – if nothing else, it left me with some questions that I want answered.

I received a free review copy of Aversion from the author. Her generosity in no way influenced, or sought to influence, this review.

Leave a Reply

