Dystopian, Fiction, Young Adult

Skylark

Skylark book cover
Image from Down The Rabbit Hole

Title:  Skylark (Skylark #1)

Author:  Meagan Spooner

Genre:  Dystopian

For fifteen years, Lark Ainsley waited for the day when her Resource could be harvested and she would finally be an adult.  She expected to get a small role in the regular, orderly operation of the city within the Wall.  She expected to do her part to maintain the refuge for the last survivors of the wars.  She expected to be a tiny cog in the larger clockwork of the city.  She did not expect to become the city’s power supply.

For fifteen years, Lark Ainsley believed in a lie.  Now she must escape the only world she’s ever known…or face a fate more unimaginable than death.

I first heard about this book so long ago, I don’t even remember why it caught my attention.  Maybe because it sounded like a pretty unique dystopian.  However it happened, though, it ended up on my TBR list, and was my random pick when I got around to ordering books.

Lark was not the strong, bold heroine I usually go for.  Of course, that was understandable – living within the Wall her whole life, even the sky scared her.  But for the most part, I didn’t mind her.  In fact, once she got over the “Oh, everything’s so terrifying!” attitude, I really enjoyed her.

I can’t say much about Oren – the boy who helped her outside the Wall – without giving away a huge spoiler.  But a lot of his personality quirks were explained in a way that even though I probably should have expected, I didn’t.

Usually there’s some more characters to discuss, but in this book, not really.  There were a handful of city people in the beginning, and another set of characters in the end, but nobody who was in enough of the book to mention.

I really enjoyed Skylark‘s take on the standard dystopian – in fact, all the magic involved made it feel like a cross between dystopian and fantasy.  And I loved learning about the world and how it worked.

My main problem was that the second quarter of the book was a little slow.  The beginning, with Lark finding out that the city wanted to use her as a power source, was interesting.  But once she escaped, the story kind of trudged along.  I almost gave up on it.  But I’m glad I didn’t, because it picked up at about the halfway point and got much, much better as it went on.

I do feel that there’s room for a sequel without dragging the story on too long, but I wasn’t overly captivated with Skylark.  It wasn’t bad, mind you, it just wasn’t fantastic, either.  The jury’s still out on whether or not I want to read the sequel, Shadowlark, which comes out in October.

2 thoughts on “Skylark”

  1. I do dislike it when books drag on. For the most part if a book is slow during the middle of the book I will keep reading, but if it happens at the beginning I will more than likely put it down. I want to read this book now to see if it will stay interesting like you said it does.
    I also hate it when a protagonist is terrified of everything. That tends to be in a lot of YA girls books now-a-days. They go through that phase.
    Thanks for sharing this book,
    A. Willow

    1. I have a very similar thought process – that’s mostly why I kept reading instead of giving up. Like I said, Skylark wasn’t my favorite book, but the ending picks up enough to make it worth slogging through the middle. If you do end up reading it, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

