Science Fiction

Review: School’s Out–Forever

School's Out-Forever cover
Image from Annie’s Blog

Title: School’s Out – Forever

Series: Maximum Ride #2

Author: James Patterson

Genre: Science Fiction

WARNING:  This review will probably have spoilers of the first book in the series.

Back Cover:

Max Ride and her Flock – five other bird-kids with the ability to fly – are doing just fine on their own.  But the FBI doesn’t seem to agree.  Now they’re being forced to face their worst nightmare…school.  A place where setting off explosives and stealing hidden documents are no-nos, even if the headmaster is evil.  A place where they learn everything except how to survive as winged fugitives hunted by killer wolf-human hybrids.  Somebody ought to make that a required class…

Review:

My whole purpose in rereading this series was to determine, since I hated the last three books, if I wanted to keep the first five, which I own.  After reading The Angel Experiment, I was pretty sure the answer was “keep them all!” but I wanted to read the rest of them anyway.

Once again, the hands-down best part about this book was Max.  I loved her snarky, sarcastic narration and her kick-butt attitude and her off-handed comments and practically everything about her.  She wasn’t technically perfect, but she made a perfect character, if that makes sense.

The other characters are a little more difficult to discuss.  For the most part, they weren’t much different than in the previous book.  Iggy and Gazzy set off a few less explosions, and Angel – well, I better not comment, since I know what happens with that and I might give something away.  But overall, the characters were pretty much the same.

Once again, the plot the book started with – the Flock ending up at school – wrapped up about halfway through, and they were back to the find-our-parents plot.  At this point, besides the whole save-the-world thing, there’s no major overarching plot, but I really don’t mind.  I love these characters so much, James Patterson can throw them in just about any situation and I’ll stay interested.

I only had one tiny problem with School’s Out—Forever.  At the end, the narration switched from first-person Max to alternating first-person Max and somebody else.  And sometimes it would take me half the chapter to figure out who was talking.  It wasn’t a huge deal, and it didn’t show up until the very end, but it still bugged me.

School’s Out—Forever is definitely a keeper.  Now I can’t wait to reread the next book, Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports.  If I remember right, that one was my favorite of the whole series.

The Maximum Ride series:

  1. The Angel Experiment
  2. School’s Out-Forever
  3. Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
  4. The Final Warning
  5. Max
  6. Fang
  7. Angel
  8. Nevermore
  9. Maximum Ride Forever
Leave a Reply

