Science Fiction

Review: The Angel Experiment

The Angel Experiment book cover
Image from mspaine

Title: The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride #1)

Author: James Patterson

Genre: Science Fiction

Back Cover:

Max Ride and her “family” – five other misfit kids like her – have been perfectly safe in their hideout, thank you very much.  But when the half-human, half-wolf Erasers show up and kidnap six-year-old Angel, Max decides it’s time to come out of hiding.  To get Angel back, Max and her family will have to invade the evil School, the very place where the Erasers are made.  But they have one advantage – they can fly.  Literally.

Review:

I first read the Maximum Ride books just after Max came out, and absolutely loved them – so much that I bought them all.  But the books after Max, I didn’t like quite so much.  After reading the last book, Nevermore, and determining I didn’t really like how the series ended, I decided I’d better reread the first five books and decide if they’re worth keeping.

Now I remember why I fell in love with the Maximum Ride books in the first place.

I loved Max.  More specifically, I loved her voice.  The Angel Experiment was written in first person with Max narrating, and I think the narration was the best part of the whole book.  She was snarky and sarcastic, and seemed a whole lot older than fourteen.  I absolutely loved her off-handed comments and Notes to Self and pretty much everything about her narration.  You have to enjoy sarcastic humor to appreciate it, but if sarcasm makes you laugh, Max’s comments are laugh-out-loud funny.

Iggy and Gazzy were both great characters, especially when dealing  with bombs.  Gazzy reminded me a lot of my brother, if my brother had wings and a penchant for explosives.  I honestly think those two were more fun together – it resulted in bigger explosions.

Angel reminded me a bit of my little sister – sweet, innocent, and very, very cute.  She also had some dark gifts, but even when she was using them, she was so sweet and innocent about it.  Nudge was also sweet in her own way – a friendly, talkative way.  The two of them were actually very similar, personality-wise.

Fang was actually my least-favorite character.  He didn’t say much, and half the time, he was just kind of there.

The whole save-Angel plot wrapped up about halfway through the book, and then it launched into the what-the-heck-do-they-want-with-us plot that, if I remember right, stretches through the next two books at least.  Besides finding out all sorts of secrets, there’s also betrayal, evil plots, and wolf/human hybrids trying to kill them.  And between kick-butt action, sarcastic humor, and the Flock’s lack of skills when dealing with normal people, I loved every minute of it.

I’m now really looking forward to rereading the next book, School’s Out – Forever.  I think these books may have to stay on my shelf a while longer.

The Maximum Ride series:

  1. The Angel Experiment
  2. School’s Out-Forever
  3. Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
  4. The Final Warning
  5. Max
  6. Fang
  7. Angel
  8. Nevermore
  9. Maximum Ride Forever
Leave a Reply

