Adult, Fiction, Suspense/Thriller

Ulterior Motives

Ulterior Motives book cover
Image from Christian Novels

Title:  Ulterior Motives

Author:  Mark Andrew Olsen

Genre:  Thriller

An intercepted email leads to the capture of Al-Qaeda’s leader, Omar Nirubi, but it also threatens an attack on America.  Nirubi is interrogated, but he holds to his beliefs and refuses to talk.  Desperate, the army resorts to a controversial protocol that requires an outside party, someone unaware of the protocol’s aims.  That someone is Greg Cahill, a disgraced soldier who now serves in a prison ministry.  Lured by the chance to restore his reputation, Greg befriends a man the country despises.  And the result proves combustible.  The two men flee for their lives and set out to prevent a major catastrophe…

I saw this book in my church library a while ago, and thought it sounded vaguely interesting.  But it wasn’t until I was running low on books to read that I finally picked it up.

Greg wasn’t a bad character.  I couldn’t really relate to a lot of his feelings about his son, but that’s because I’m sixteen and don’t have any kids.  In fact, I felt like a lot of the time, I couldn’t relate to him.  (Of course, that could just be me.)

In the beginning of the story, Greg didn’t feature as prominently as I expected.  It was about equally split between his story and the story of Delia Kilgore, the person in charge of Nirubi’s interrogation.  In fact, for most of the book, it jumped back and forth between him and Delia.

I stuck with the book mainly because of the plot.  And the main reason I stuck with that is because I knew what the threat was (although not all the specifics), and the characters didn’t.  That, and I also wanted to see if the protocol would break Nirubi’s resistance.  I enjoyed the story, and I thought it wrapped up very well, but I didn’t love it.

Ulterior Motives seemed a lot like a Bourne or Die Hard movie, but in book form.  And even though I liked the movies, this kind of book isn’t really my thing.  That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it, because I did, but it wouldn’t be my first choice when it comes to reading material.

If you like terrorist plots, Christian suspense novels, or the Bourne novels, chances are you’ll like Ulterior Motives.  But personally, this genre isn’t my favorite.

Leave a Reply

