Science Fiction

Review: Scarlet

Scarlet book cover
Image from Erin York

Title: Scarlet

Series: Lunar Chronicles #2

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Science Fiction

Warning:  This book is second in a series, and will probably contain spoilers of the first book.

Back Cover:

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, is trying to break out of prison.  If she succeeds, she’ll be the commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.  Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing.  When the police refuse to believe she was kidnapped, Scarlet joins forces with Wolf, a mysterious street fighter.  As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder.  Now all of them must stay one step ahead of the Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything to rule not only the moon, but the earth.

Review:

After reading the awesomeness that was Cinder, I could not wait to read the sequel.  So when I realized the waiting was over and I could finally read Scarlet, I jumped at it.

There’s always this slight worry going into the sequel of a great book – will book two be as awesome as book one?  I’m proud to announce that Scarlet did not disappoint me in the least.

Scarlet the character I liked almost as much as Cinder.  She had a definite temper, which I didn’t always like, and she didn’t take no for an answer.  She was bound and determined to get what she wanted, even when she didn’t know how exactly to do that.  Even though I still liked Cinder (slightly) better, I enjoyed following her around.

Wolf was another new main character.  When he first showed up, I could tell there was something not quite right about him, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.  It was something about his nervous energy and his skittishness.  But I liked him anyway, and later on, the “off-ness” was explained in a way that somehow just made me like him more.

Cinder was back in this book, but she didn’t get nearly as much page time as I would have preferred.  I still enjoyed her independent-mindedness and determinedness, and I wish she’d have been a more major player in the story.

There were three main plots in Scarlet, and they all tied back to Princess Selene.  Queen Levana wanted to take over the Eastern Commonwealth, Cinder wanted to avoid getting captured, and Scarlet wanted to rescue her grandmother.  There were a bunch of twists and turns – so many that I guessed at what happened at the end, and I was wrong.  (And I pride myself on being able to guess, if nothing else, the Big Reveal.)

Overall, I loved this book.  Twists and turns, ins and outs, and all sorts of new developments along the way (some I guessed and some I didn’t).  I honestly liked Cinder slightly better than Scarlet (both characters and books), but I did love reading Scarlet.

I’m quite sure my review failed to do this book justice, because I loved it.  The absolute worst thing about it is that Cress, the third Lunar Chronicles book, doesn’t come out until next year.

The Lunar Chronicles:

  1. Cinder
  2. Scarlet
  3. Cress
  4. Winter
1 thought on “Review: Scarlet”

Leave a Reply

