Urban Fantasy

Review: Sweet Venom

Sweet Venom book cover
Image from smallreview.blogspot.com

Title:  Sweet Venom

Series: Sweet Venom #1

Author:  Tera Lynn Childs

Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Back Cover:

Grace is looking for a new start in San Francisco – but things get a little scary when a minotaur interrupts dinner.  Gretchen is tired of monsters keeping her out into the wee hours on a school night, but during a routine monster riddance, she runs into a girl who could be her double.  Greer has her life pretty well put together, but it all changes when two girls who look almost exactly like her show up on her doorstep.  The three girls are descendants of Medusa, the once-beautiful gorgon maligned by myth, and destined to spend their lives hunting the monsters.  But the monsters are suddenly breaking all the rules…

Review:

I’ve always loved Greek mythology, and this sounded like a completely original take on the Medusa myth.  And when I found a free ebook version, I snatched it right up.

Grace was an environmentalist, a vegetarian, and a total geek – full scholarship to a super-prestigious, exclusive high school, computer nerd (with rudimentary hacking skills), the whole shebang.  If I had to take a guess, I would say she’s the youngest sister – she has the more peacemaking, let’s all be friends and stick together ideas.

Gretchen, I also liked, but in a totally different way.  She was the tough, kick-butt one of the bunch.  She could be harsh, which was understandable, but if I was to guess, I think she’s the oldest sister.  She has those more bossy, protective tendencies.

Greer didn’t come in until more than halfway through the book, which, from the summary, I didn’t expect.  She was also more bratty than the others – which is explained in a way that made me feel sorry for her.  Her parents didn’t care, her boyfriend was a jerk…  It was totally obvious to me that she was better off killing monsters.

And speaking of killing monsters – that wasn’t nearly as integral to the plot as I thought it would be.  Sure, they were there and they were a threat, but Grace, Gretchen, and Greer accepting each other as sisters seemed to be the main focus of the story.  It wasn’t really a bad thing, mainly because it was done so well, but it’s not what I expected.

About the only thing I had a problem with was jumpy transitions.  At first, I thought that little triple asterisk scene separator got list in the transition to ebook, but then it would jump back and forth – Gretchen in school, Gretchen fighting a monster in a back alley, Gretchen in school – in alternating paragraphs.  Occasionally, I would have to reread a paragraph or two to figure out where (and when) in the story I was.

I enjoyed the story.  It wasn’t quite what I expected, but I enjoyed it just the same.  And I’m looking forward to reading the sequel, Sweet Shadows.

Oh, and quick random side note about the title:  It’s not just catchy. There really is some literally sweet venom in the book.

The Sweet Venom series:

  1. Sweet Venom
  2. Sweet Shadows
  3. Sweet Legacy
1 thought on “Review: Sweet Venom”

Leave a Reply

