High Fantasy

Review: Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass book cover
Image from bookstobrighten yourmood.blogspot.com

Title:  Throne of Glass

Series: Throne of Glass #1

Author:  Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  High Fantasy

Back Cover:

Celaena Sardothien hates the king with all her heart, and if she had a choice, she would refuse his offer.  But when it’s between a competition to become the king’s Champion or the death camp of Endovier, there isn’t really an option.  The Crown Prince provokes her, and the Captain of the Guard protects her.  But when her fellow competitors start dying gruesome deaths, Celaena’s fight to win becomes a fight for survival.

Review:

I was really excited to read this book, if for no other reason that assassins are awesome.  That, and the Champion competition sounded interesting.

And I liked it just fine, but I didn’t love it.

Celaena is a difficult character to describe.  She definitely has a hard, assassin-like personality, but she also has a softer side.  She also seemed a little more trusting than I thought an assassin should be.  I liked her as a character, but I didn’t love her.

I really liked Chaol, although I’m not sure exactly why.  He wasn’t in a whole lot of the book – at least not when he wasn’t training Celaena or getting angry at her for doing something she wasn’t supposed to.  He was protective, and stubborn at times.  Even though he wasn’t major as far as page time goes, he ties with Celaena for favorite character.

Dorian drove me insane at the beginning of the book.  Towards the middle, I didn’t mind him so much.  And at the end, I just didn’t care.  He wasn’t really a unique personality (even though he was quite good at witty banter), and I didn’t care one way or the other about what happened to him.

The main thing I didn’t like about this book was the love triangle.  I didn’t like how huge of a plot element it was, and I found it absurdly obvious which guy Celaena ended up with.  I did enjoy the witty banter that came with it, and I doubt the plot would have been nearly as complicated without it, but I didn’t really like it.

Other than the fact that the romance was such a huge part of it, I enjoyed the plot.  The competition was interesting, even though some of the tests were glossed over or only mentioned in retrospect.  The murder mystery part was also interesting, even though it was solved sooner than I expected.  (Actually, I didn’t seen why Celaena didn’t see how absurdly obvious the answer was.  But I digress.)

Overall, I enjoyed the book.  It wasn’t as great as I’d hoped, but it wasn’t terrible either.  It was just…good.

The Throne of Glass series:

  1. Throne of Glass
  2. Crown of Midnight
  3. Heir of Fire
  4. Queen of Shadows
  5. Empire of Storms
  6. Tower of Dawn
  7. Untitled (May 1, 2018)
Leave a Reply

