Science Fantasy

Review: The Opal Deception

The Opal Deception book cover
Image from jss31. blogspot.com

Title:  The Opal Deception

Series: Artemis Fowl #4

Author:  Eoin Colfer

Genre:  Science Fantasy

WARNING:  This review will most likely contain spoilers of the previous books in the series.

Back Cover:

After his last run-in with the fairies, Artemis Fowl got his mind wiped – and now he has reverted to his criminal lifestyle.  While preparing to steal a famously well-guarded painting from a German bank, he is targeted by an old rival, Opal Koboi.  The evil pixie spent the last year in a self-induced coma, plotting revenge.  Now, after luring Captain Holly Short and Commander Root into a deadly trap, she’s turned her sights to Artemis… the only one who can stop her plan to destroy the fairy world.

Review:

This is a reread, but I didn’t remember exactly what happened – until I opened the book, when it all came flooding back.  I also totally forgot a character died until the scene where it happened.  So the death came as a total shock even the second time around.

As far as the rest of the book goes, though, I remembered the main gist of it.  So even though I enjoyed watching Artemis and Holly attempt to stop Opal, I knew exactly how it turned out.  I even remembered the vast majority of the silly details.  I enjoyed the plot, it just didn’t have the same tension as it did the first time around.  The downside of rereads, I guess.

Holly was pretty much the same as she was in the previous books – feisty, kick-butt, and very, very stubborn.  She still had a disregard for orders and rules.  Basically, she was the same elfin captain I liked over the previous books.

Artemis was…well, I can’t say too much without spoilers, but I’m liking him even more as the series goes on.

Like I said before, I enjoyed the plot.  Even the second time around, it was still interesting.  As a reread, though, I knew exactly what would happen, so even though it was fun, there was none of the surprise factor like there was the first time.

In my review of Artemis Fowl, I mentioned that the book had a distinctly middle grade feel.  In my review of The Eternity Code, I said that it seemed more like upper middle grade.  I bet it’s partially due to the fact that Artemis himself is older, but this one felt more like younger YA than any sort of middle grade.

I apologize for this review being so short, but I’m running into a problem I find with almost ever series I review – repeating myself.  Certain plot elements, the writing style, and the characters carry over from one book to the next.  So if I don’t mention some element of the book, chances are it’s the same as in a previous book, and I didn’t repeat it.

The Artemis Fowl series:

  1. Artemis Fowl
  2. The Arctic Incident
  3. The Eternity Code
  4. The Opal Deception
  5. The Lost Colony
  6. The Time Paradox
  7. The Atlantis Complex
  8. The Last Guardian
Leave a Reply

