Science Fantasy

Review: The Eternity Code

The Eternity Code book cover
Image from blackplume. wordpress.com

Title:  The Eternity Code

Series: Artemis Fowl #3

Author:  Eoin Colfer

Genre:  Science Fantasy

WARNING:  This review will most likely contain spoilers of the previous books in the series.

Back Cover:

Artemis Fowl’s father is alive, home – and an honest man.  He wants Artemis to give up his life of crime.  Artemis will go along with it…but first, he’s going to complete one last scheme.  He attempts to broker a deal with powerful Chicago businessman Jon Spiro for the C Cube, a supercomputer made of stolen fairy technology.  But Spiro didn’t get to the top by playing by the rules.  Captain Holly Short agrees to help Artemis retrieve the C Cube – after all, it’s in the fairies’ best interest for Spiro not to discover them.  Spiro has the best security money can buy, but Artemis has the fairies on his side.  And everybody underestimates a twelve-year-old genius.

Review:

This book opened on a serious note, but it didn’t stay that way for long.  In fact, once the death scene was over, the book was laugh-out-loud funny.  Also, I mentioned in the reviews of Artemis Fowl and The Arctic Incident that both books had a distinctly middle grade feel.  This book I would describe as upper middle grade.  It seemed older than the previous books (and the death scene probably has something to do with that), but I still wouldn’t call it YA.

The characters were just about the same as the previous books…for the most part.  I still enjoyed Holly’s kick-butt, determined attitude (and the fact that she’s maybe three feet tall just makes it all the more fun).

Artemis, as it turns out, really does have a heart.  I’m liking him even more now that he’s more or less given up on the “evil” part of “evil genius.”  And even though I don’t remember liking Foaly so much the first time I read this series, he’s really starting to grow on me this time around.

I really enjoyed the plot.  I’m pretty sure Spiro wouldn’t be classified as a genius, but he certainly had resources.  It was fun watching Artemis go up against him, especially for reasons that involve the death scene.

But anyway.  I never had any doubt that Artemis was going to come out on top, and hardly any of that was because I’ve read the book before.  Artemis just doesn’t leave any room for doubt.

If I didn’t remember what happened in the next book, I would have been a little more dismayed at the ending.  As it is, though, it just makes me excited to read the next book, because I remember what happens, but not exactly how.  (And I think it involves goblins.)

The Artemis Fowl series:

  1. Artemis Fowl
  2. The Arctic Incident
  3. The Eternity Code
  4. The Opal Deception
  5. The Lost Colony
  6. The Time Paradox
  7. The Atlantis Complex
  8. The Last Guardian
Leave a Reply

