Science Fantasy

Review: The Arctic Incident

The Arctic Incident book cover
Image from tongbangbooks.com

Title:  The Arctic Incident

Series: Artemis Fowl #2

Author:  Eoin Colfer

Genre:  Science Fantasy

WARNING:  This review will inevitably contain spoilers of the first book in the Artemis Fowl series.

Back Cover:

Artemis Fowl is at boarding school in Ireland when he receives an urgent video email from Russia.  It is a plea from a man Artemis had thought he would never see again … his father.  Artemis rushes to save him from the Russian Mafiya, but is stopped by a familiar nemesis:  Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon fairy police.  Last time Artemis encountered fairies, he tricked them out of their gold.  But this time he’s going to have to join forces with them – at least if he wants to save one of the few people in the world he loves.

Review:

I remember liking this book the first time I read it – not quite as much as I liked Artemis Fowl, mind you, but I still liked it.  This time around, though, besides a distinctly middle grade feel that I didn’t remember, The Arctic Incident seemed very…similar to Artemis Fowl.

I mean, the plot was different.  It was “save Artemis’s father (and stop evil plot against fairy police)” instead of “cheat fairies out of gold.”  But half the time, I felt like I was rereading Artemis Fowl.  Re-explanation could be the culprit – most of the explanations of fairy-related stuff were in the first book, too.  Or it could just be the fact that I actually have read this book before.  But either way, it seemed very similar to the first book.

The characterization may have had something to do with that, too.  Holly and Butler were exactly the same as they were in book one.  Artemis was, too, but I got to see more of a softer side only hinted at in the first book.  But really, besides Artemis’s not-so-evil side, the characters were the same.

The plot, between goblin rebellions, evil fairies trying to take down the police, and rescuing Artemis’s father from the Mafiya, was plenty to hold my attention.  And I enjoyed it, really.  It was a lot like I remembered – it just seemed to have a more middle grade bent than I remembered.  Which wasn’t a good thing or a bad thing.  It was just a thing.

I really did like this book.  I just, unfortunately, didn’t find it as fantastic as I remembered it to be.

The Artemis Fowl series:

  1. Artemis Fowl
  2. The Arctic Incident
  3. The Eternity Code
  4. The Opal Deception
  5. The Lost Colony
  6. The Time Paradox
  7. The Atlantis Complex
  8. The Last Guardian
Leave a Reply

