Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult

Every Other Day

Every Other Day book cover
Image from Book Passion for Life

Title:  Every Other Day

Author:  Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Genre:  Paranormal

Every second day, Kali D’Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl.  And every other day, she’s not.  She’s not quite sure what she is on those days, but she hunts and kills supernatural creatures that threaten her world.  On those days, she’s practically indestructible.  But when Kali notices a mark on a girl at school, she knows that girl is marked for death by one of those creatures.  And she only has twenty-four hours to save her.  The only problem – it’s the wrong twenty-four hours.

From the summary, I assumed protecting this girl marked for death would be the book’s main plot.  And it was distinctly…not.  In fact, that whole problem was wrapped up by page one hundred – at which point it moved into conspiracy theories and other, even more interesting stuff.

Kali is a hard character to describe.  She’s a definite loner – her dad only realizes she exists every other Thursday, she stays under the radar at school, and she’s really not interested in making friends.  She’s also got a hero complex of sorts – she’s always got to save everybody.  She was a strong character, but also had vulnerable moments.  And I loved following her around.

Skylar I also loved.  She was the most amazing friend – chatty, happy, upbeat, and doesn’t let anything get to her (or at least acts like it doesn’t).  I’m not going to say too much about her, because I’ll just get mad at Jennifer Barnes all over again, but I wish I had a friend like her.

The concept of this book was fantastic.  Darwin discovered paranormal creatures, like dragons and basilisks, and not only does everybody know about them, there’s an entire branch of science to study them.

I have to admit, I was surprised at how quickly the original problem was solved – and how it transitioned into a whole new problem – evil scientists and unnatural paranormal creatures.  And a voice in Kali’s head.

I’m doing my best to avoid spoilers, but I’ll say this:  I pride myself in my ability to guess the endings of books, and I did not see this one coming.  I’m not sure if I’m the hugest fan of what Kali turned out to be, but the awesomeness of the rest of the book overshadowed that one little not-so-awesome detail.

Overall, this was a just plain fantastic book – which is saying something, since I don’t generally like the paranormal genre.

I think it’s possible there’s a sequel in the works somewhere.  The ending was acceptable for the end of a stand-alone, but there’s also sequel potential.  I’d definitely be interested in reading a second book, but I’m not sure it would be as good as Every Other Day, due to the loss of an important character.

Leave a Reply

