Contemporary

Review: The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars book cover
Image from libraryofcleanreads. blogspot.com

Title:  The Fault in Our Stars

Author:  John Green

Genre:  Contemporary

Back Cover:

Despite the medical miracle that bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal.  Her final chapter was written upon diagnosis of the cancerous tumors in her lungs.  But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review:

I had not planned on picking this book up.  I’ve heard some bad things about this book and about John Green as a writer – plus, it was a contemporary novel (which I don’t generally like) about kids with cancer (which promised to be either unbearably sad or incredibly trite).

But it was a book club book, and so I read it.  And even though I’m sure this review won’t do it justice, I will try.

Hazel’s snark and cynical outlook came through on the very first page, and I loved her wit.  I also loved her general personality, her off-the-wall thoughts about life and death.  But even more than that, I felt her pain – the agony of the tumors in her lungs, the fear of not knowing when it will take her, and all the anger and frustration that came with it.

Augustus was also a little off-the-wall, but in a different way.  He seemed a little more laid back than Hazel (but it could be because his cancer was in remission).  He had his own quirks, though – like his obsession with metaphors and his non-smoking habit.  And while he wasn’t a point-of-view character like Hazel, I felt like I knew him just as well.

I admit it – this book made my cry.  In fact, if my brother wasn’t in the room, I would have been sobbing.  It was so heartwrenchingly sad, but also heartbreakingly beautiful.  It was a romance story, but a romance between a teen who’d had cancer and a teen who’s dying of it.  It was sad in its beauty and beautiful in its sadness, if that makes any sense.

I have a habit of guessing the endings of books about halfway though, and this one was no exception.  But honestly, up until the end, I was hoping hoping hoping I was wrong.  But I was right, and the ending just made me want to cry harder.

Normally, I don’t go for the tearjerkers, but somehow, this was an exception.  It could be because it was so sweet and innocent and beautiful among all the sadness, but I didn’t want to stop reading even after I finished it.

I can’t figure out how anyone could think John Green is a bad writer.  The Fault in Our Stars completely blew me away.

Leave a Reply

