Blog Tours

Blog Tour: How to Survive Ancient Spells and Crazy Kings

Today, I’m participating in my first-ever blog tour – for Laura Pauling’s How to Survive Ancient Spells and Crazy Kings.  I had the opportunity to read an ebook ARC, and it was absolutely amazing!  I’ll post the full review tomorrow.

In the meantime, here’s Laura with a bit about writing the book and an awesome giveaway!

Published by Pugalicious Press

When Bianca and Melvin brave the jungle to rescue their grandfather, they stumble upon the ancient Maya city of Etza, where the people haven’t aged in 2,000 years. They must learn to work together as they face loincloth-wearing skeletons from the underworld, a backstabbing princess, and an ancient prophecy that says in three days the city will be destroyed.

No problem. They’ll find Zeb and zip right out of there. The fact that a crazy king wants to serve Bianca up to the gods as an appetizer is just a minor technicality. But this ancient evil dude has finally met his match.

~*~

Creating white space and increasing the pace and tension on the page.

One tip I learned early on was the back and forth of dialogue. Sometimes dialogue can move fast without including many tags, body language, or mixing in internal thoughts and narrative. Those aspects are needed and all good but at times it can be too much and slow down the pace. Here is a section where I went out of my way to include a little bit of this back and forth. This technique also creates whitespace on the page, which is always good.

Excerpt from Chapter 6

Melvin shifted, turning away, and continued scribbling in his notebook. “Stop trying to read my journal.”

“You mean diary?”

“This is a journal.”

“Are you writing down what happened today?”

Melvin turned to me, his eyes glittering in the firelight. “Why? What happened today?”

Zebulon flashed in my mind’s eye. He’d told me to stay away—the second person in one day. “Stop trying to make this about me. Are you writing about Tikal?”

“Yes.”

“First impressions? Thoughts? Descriptions?”

Melvin nodded.

I pointed to his notebook. “You can call it a hamster cage if it makes you feel better, but it’s a diary.”

Melvin launched into a scientific explanation about journaling as an educational tool. I had plenty of sarcasm in my tool belt to combat him, but a line of Maya men with their arms around each other kicked their way through our group and the fire. Their flickering forms danced with the firelight. No one noticed. Except me. I watched, captivated. My breath caught in my throat. Rowdy laughter and cheers of the Maya echoed between the temples.

~*~

Thanks, Jalyn, for hosting me on the tour!

How To Survive Ancient Spells and Crazy Kings released in November. Pugalicious Press did a fantastic job, and I’m extremely happy with the results. This book would make a fantastic gift for boys or girls who enjoy adventure stories with lots of excitement!

You can purchase it on Amazon or Barnes and Noble. You can read the first chapter here. Check out the teacher’s guide.

Thankfully, my journey is just beginning and I’m excited to see where it leads.

Click here for the list of blog tour stops! Enter to win these prize packages!

Prize Package One (signed paperbacks)

Prize Package Two (signed paperbacks)

Prize Package Three

Refresh the page if you can’t see the Rafflecopter form!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

