Dystopian, Fiction, Young Adult

Defiance

Defiance book cover
Image from Small Review

Title:  Defiance

Author:  C.J. Redwine

Genre:  Dystopian

While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel Adams learns fighting and wilderness survival.  But when her father doesn’t return from one of his courier missions, he’s declared dead and Rachel is assigned a new Protector – her father’s apprentice, Logan.  The same boy she gave her heart to years ago, and who handed it right back.  Now, Rachel has nothing but a firm belief that her father is alive – and the Commander, brutal ruler of the city, has something to do with his disappearance.  Treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, but Rachel is determined to bring him down…with or without Logan’s help.

I don’t even remember where I heard about this book – one of the innumerable book-related blogs I follow, most likely.  Anyway, I didn’t put it on my TBR list because I didn’t really like the cover, but when I saw it in the library, I decided to try it.

The book was good.  It wasn’t bad.  It wasn’t great.  It was just good.

I really liked Rachel in the beginning.  She was a brave, strong character, and the secret fighting skills were an added bonus.  Then it got to the middle, where people close to Rachel started getting killed, and I didn’t like her quite so much.  It wasn’t that I didn’t feel bad for her – I did.  It’s just that her reactions were so extreme that they seemed almost fake.

The book switched perspectives between Rachel and Logan – which, although I wasn’t expecting it, wasn’t a bad thing.  The problem was, I didn’t really like Logan all that much.  He was nice and all, but he was just a little too perfect.  He was smart, he was caring, he could fight as well as Rachel and he could build technological gadgets from spare parts.  I’m sure he wasn’t truly perfect, but he came across that way.

The plot seemed to be a pretty standard dystopian plotline.  Evil dictator has control “for the good of the people.”  Main character lives under control of evil dictator.  Main character and romance interest rebel against evil dictator.  Defiance didn’t have a traditional rebellion, but Rachel was rebelling against the Commander’s wishes by refusing to give him the gadget her father hid.  The details were different, but the plot was pretty standard.

Due to the fact that I still had a few questions when the book ended, I’m thinking there might be a sequel in the works.  But really, Defiance wrapped up pretty well, and I wouldn’t be interested in reading a sequel.  It’s not that the book was bad, mind you.  It was just thoroughly unremarkable.

Leave a Reply

