Science Fiction

Review: Cinder

Cinder book cover
Image from Screen Spinster

Title:  Cinder

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1

Author:  Marissa Meyer

Genre:  Science Fiction

Back Cover:

Cinder is considered a technological mistake by society and a burden by her stepmother.  But being a cyborg has its benefits:  Cinder has an uncanny ability to fix things, making her the best mechanic in New Beijing.  This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to ask her to repair a broken android.  Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder has other problems.  Her younger stepsister (and only human friend) is infected with the plague.  Blaming Cinder, her stepmother volunteers her for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived.  But then the scientists discover something unusual about Cinder…something others would kill for…

Review:

I am absolutely positive that this review will not do this book justice.  But I will try.

This book didn’t even make my Really-Excited-To-Read list.  I saw Cat’s review of it at Beyond Books, and since she loved it so much, I thought, “What the heck, I’ll try it.”  And when I saw it at the library, I threw it on my pile and didn’t think much about it.

I started this book at eight thirty in the morning.  I left the house at nine o’clock, spent the day with a friend, and got home at six thirty.  And yet I still managed to finish the whole almost-400-page book in a single day.  If that doesn’t tell you how fantastic this book is, I don’t know what will.

A sci-fi Cinderella story featuring a cyborg mechanic?  Does it get much better that that?

Heck yes, it does.

Marissa Meyer is brilliant.

First off, I absolutely loved Cinder.  Besides the fact that I have a soft spot for cyborgs (one of my novels-in-progress features cyborgs), Cinder was just an awesome character.  She was independent and stubborn, skilled at what she did, had a mind of her own and struggled with confusing emotions.  In short, she was the perfect (not literally) main character.

Cinder’s stepmother made me so angry.  I don’t care if the law was on her side or not.  She just … argh, I just wanted to punch her!  Yeah, the law says cyborgs have no rights, but she doesn’t have to be so dang bratty about it!  She was so unfair towards Cinder, it just made me furious.

All the other characters were really awesome (or really frustrating, depending on the character).  Marissa Meyer has brilliant characters.  And setting (Beijing in the far future?  Awesome!).  And plot (fix the prince’s cyborg, convince prince to stop asking her to the ball, keep prince from finding out she’s a cyborg, survive her stepmother, save her stepsister, figure out why the scientists think she’s so special, save the empire from hostile takeover, don’t get killed).  Absolutely brilliant.

I only had one problem with the whole book.  It may be because I read too many books or something, but I guessed at the Big Reveal the instant it was mentioned.  Which kind of made it anticlimactic when it turned out I was right.  But that didn’t really bother me too much, because I tend to do that quite a bit.

My review truly didn’t do this epic book any sort of justice.  Trust me – read it.  It’s well worth it.

And unfortunately, Scarlet, the second book, doesn’t come out until February…

The Lunar Chronicles:

  1. Cinder
  2. Scarlet
  3. Cress
  4. Winter
1 thought on “Review: Cinder”

Leave a Reply

