Dystopian, Fiction, Young Adult

Mini-Reviews: Shadow Children 4-5

This is part two of my mini-review series of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Shadow Children books.  You can read my mini-reviews of the first three books, Among the Hidden, Among the Impostors, and Among the Betrayed here.

Among the Barons book cover
Image from jackisbbb.blogspot,com

Title:  Among the Barons (Shadow Children #4)

Author:  Margaret Peterson Haddix

Genre:  Dystopian

WARNING:  The following review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books, Among the Hidden, Among the Impostors, and Among the Betrayed.  Unless you’ve read the previous books, I recommend not reading this review.

Luke Garner, an illegal third child, is living at the Hendricks School for Boys under the identity of Lee Grant.  And, for once in Luke’s life, things are starting to look up.  But then Lee’s brother Smits arrives at the school – along with Oscar, his menacing bodyguard.  Luke becomes tangled in a web of lies that gets more complicated with each passing day.  Can Luke trust Smits?

I liked following Nina in Among the Betrayed, but by the end, I was itching to go back to Luke again.  I was happy to find that this book came back to Luke.  A whole lot more happened in this book, too, including a couple conspiracies and a few important deaths.  I’m liking Luke more and more as the series goes on, and I actually surprised myself by liking Smits.

I also feel like the whole “free the shadow children” plot is finally getting somewhere!  It seems like the first three books were getting the stage set for the actual happenings, which start here in this book.  Earlier in the series, I wasn’t sure what exactly was going to happen with this plot, but now it’s taken off, and taken off fast.  I can’t wait to see where it goes from here!

Among the Brave book cover
Image from Jonathan Beech

Title:  Among the Brave (Shadow Children #5)

Author:  Margaret Peterson Haddix

Genre:  Dystopian

WARNING:  The following review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books, Among the Hidden, Among the Impostors, Among the Betrayed, and Among the Barons.  Unless you’ve read the previous books, I recommend not reading this review.

Trey may have saved Luke’s life, but he knows he’s really a coward who can barely stand to be outside.  Now Trey discovers Luke is a prisoner of the Population Police.  He’s terrified, but he knows he’s the only one who can rescue his friend.  Trey impersonates a Population Police officer to try to get to Luke…but the closer he gets to rescuing his friend, the closer he gets to exposing not only himself, but all shadow children…

I was kind of unhappy to find that this book followed Trey instead of Luke.  I was really getting to like Luke, and was looking forward to following him again.  But I kept reading anyway and followed Trey, the self-confessed coward.

And I was surprised by how much I liked him in the beginning, and astonished by how much I liked him in the end.  I think it was watching him overcome his cowardice, but I loved Trey in this one book as much as I loved Luke in the previous three books.

Like I said in my review of Among the Barons, the “free the shadow children” plot has got going – and man, has it got going!  Things are happening, progress is being made (and sometimes unmade), allies and enemies are popping up all over the place, they actually have some semblance of a plan….

I’m absolutely thrilled.  This book was a roller coaster ride of adrenaline-pumping action and stress-inducing not-so-much-action.  But I’m absolutely and completely hooked.

I can’t wait to read the last two books and see how this is going to end.  Because I have no doubt it’ll be spectacular.

Leave a Reply

