Science Fiction

Review: The Rise of Nine

Image from Strange and Random Happenstance

Title: The Rise of Nine

Series: Lorien Legacies #3

Author:  Pittacus Lore

Genre:  Science Fiction

WARNING:  This book is third in a series, so review will probably contain spoilers of the previous books.  I recommend not reading this review unless you’ve read the previous books, I Am Number Four and The Power of Six.

Back Cover:

Before I met Number Four, I’d been alone and on the run.  Together, we are much more powerful, but then we separated to find the others.  I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found a tenth member of the Garde.  Ella is young, but she’s as brave as the rest of us.  Now we’re looking for the others.  But so are they.  They caught Number One in Malaysia.  Number Two in England.  And Number Three in Kenya.  They caught me in New York, but I escaped.  I am Number Six.  They want to finish what they started.  But they’ll have to fight us first.


This was my workout book, which means I didn’t read it nearly as fast as I would have liked to.  And my workout always finished right in the middle of an exciting part.  There were some days I had to hide the book so I didn’t pull it out in the middle of the afternoon and start reading.

I feel like there’s so many main characters in this book!  Ella, Marina, John, Six, Eight, Nine… I’m going to limit myself to a very brief discussion of each of them, just because if I didn’t, this review would be way, way too long.

My biggest complaint about the previous books was the flat characters.  And, surprisingly, the characters weren’t quite as flat in this book!

John/Four got on my nerves.  He’s obsessed with Sarah, he’s determined to rescue Sam, and too stubborn to listen to anybody.  He was so wrapped up in his own little rescue-Sarah-and-Sam plan that he couldn’t see why it would be a better idea to go find the rest of the Garde.  I understand wanting to help his friends and all, but it drove me insane how obsessed he was with it!

Six was a lot like I remembered her from The Power of Six – strong, determined, stubborn, always ready to jump into a fight.  In The Power of Six – and when she showed up in the end of I Am Number Four – she always had a plan, always knew what to do, always was on top of things even when she didn’t know what was going on.  And in this book, I liked her much better in this book, just because she wasn’t always strong.  She wasn’t invincible.  And that’s good, because her invincibleness didn’t make me like her very much.

Marina/Seven didn’t feel like a major character in this one, even though she was one of the narrators.  It almost seemed like she was just along for the ride, using her Legacies whenever she thought it might be helpful but not really doing anything of importance.  It could be because she still has some inferiority problems, but I felt like she was really passive in this book.

Nine was actually my favorite character – in fact, towards the middle of the book, he was the only thing that kept me interested in the chapters from John’s perspective.  At first, I didn’t like him – he had this whole “I know more than you do, stupid” air about him, and it got on my nerves.  But then John spent more time with him and learned more about him, his feelings, his weaknesses….  I’m not going to give too much away, but let’s just say I really grew to like him.

I’m only going to touch on Ella/Ten briefly, because I feel like for most of the book, she was a lot like my nine-year-old sister – hanging around all the time but not really doing much.  And, except for the Legacies, she really was a lot like my sister – sweet, cute, and innocent.

Now that I think about it, I can’t really define what exactly the plot was.  Besides the whole “Kill Setrakus Ra” part that’s been the theme of the last two books.  I think it was trying to get everybody together to fight Setrakus Ra…?  It’s funny, though, because even though I can’t define what exactly the plot was, it still managed to engage me.

Practically the only problem I had with the book was the narration.  Chapter one, Six was narrating, and then it switched to John/Four.  So I figured, okay, they’re alternating the narration.  That was fine – they even had two different fonts to help me figure out who was talking.  Then it switched back to Six’s font – and Marina/Seven was narrating.

That was my problem.  I could always tell when John was narrating, but when it switched, I was confused for a moment before I figured out if it was Six or Marina.  The narrator’s name should have been at the beginning of the chapter, or Marina and Six should have had different fonts – either way would have been fine to keep me oriented.  It’s kind of hard to pay attention to the story without knowing who’s eyes you’re looking through.

Other than that one problem, I really enjoyed the story.  And I’m sure hoping there’s another book out there, for two reasons.  One, the ending of the book could wrap things up, but it would be a stretch.  And two, I’d be interested.

The Lorien Legacies series:

  1. I Am Number Four
  2. The Power of Six
  3. The Rise of Nine
  4. The Fall of Five
  5. The Revenge of Seven
  6. The Fate of Ten
  7. United as One

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s