Science Fiction

The Power of Six

Image from Book Equals

Title:  The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies #2)

Author:  Pittacus Lore

Genre:  Science Fiction

WARNING:  This review will most likely contain spoilers of the previous book.  I’d recommend not reading this unless you’ve read the first book in the Lorien Legacies series, I Am Number Four.

I’ve seen him on the news and followed the stories of John Smith of Ohio.  To the world, he’s a mystery…to me, he’s one of us.  Nine of us came here.  Six of us are left.  We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another…but our Legacies are developing and soon we’ll be equipped to fight.  Could John be Number Four?  And could the raven-haired girl in my dreams be one of us?  I am Number Seven.  And I’m ready to fight.

Despite all the hype and promotions for the first book in the series, I Am Number Four, I haven’t heard a darn thing about this book.  I don’t know why this book hasn’t been promoted, especially because I think it’s better than the first one.

There were new characters in this one, but they still were pretty underdeveloped.  They were a lot like the first book, actually – bland, average, and unremarkable.  And even though John/Number Four was one of the narrators, I didn’t feel like I got to know him any better than I did in book one.

Marina/ Seven was the other narrator.  She lived with her Cêpan in a French nunnery (or whatever you call a monastery for nuns).  There wasn’t really all that much action in her part of the story, but I enjoyed seeing her legacies develop and watching her make friends with Ella.  And I really wanted to smack her Cêpan for refusing to teach her anything.

In John/Four’s part of the story, there was a lot of action – even more, I think, than in the first book.  It involved a lot of fighting/things exploding/running from police and/or mogadorians.  (Which kind of makes it a good thing that Seven was also a narrator – her less-action-packed narration balanced out the action in Four’s part.)

And while I’m on the subject of characters and point of view, the only thing I had a problem with was the switching perspectives between Numbers Four and Seven.  I can see why it was done, but how it was done kind of annoyed me.  It started out being narrated by Seven, and that was fine with me.  Then it switched to Four’s perspective, which caught me by surprise and slightly disoriented me.  I finally figured out that the two perspectives had different fonts, but I think the change should have been a little more obvious.  Like, putting the narrator’s name at the beginning of the chapter.

I love how the book is starting to introduce more of the…the Numbers, I suppose.  The Lorien people.  And I’m looking forward to meeting some more of them – maybe next book?

Strangely enough, I didn’t feel like a whole lot happened in the whole 400+ page book.  I didn’t feel like it was excessively wordy or the plot was slow or anything, it just didn’t seem to have 400 pages worth of plot.

Now that I think about it, there really wasn’t a whole lot of plot – Four was trying to fight the mogadorians, and Seven was trying to learn about her Legacies.  And that was about it.  Actually, it felt a lot like the first book in the series – a movie novelization with a whole lot of details.

I have absolutely no idea what the title of book three is or when it comes out (because there’s even less promotion about book three than this one) but I’d like to read it when it does.

UPDATE: The third Lorien Legacies book, The Rise of Nine, was released in August 2012.

Leave a Reply

